The Mining Cadastral Office of Madagascar or BCMM as it is more commonly known, is a public institution created by Decree 2000-308 of 10 May 2000. It is placed under technical supervision of the Presidency’s Ministry in charge of Mines and Petroleum and under financial supervision of the Ministry of Finances and Budget.

The BCMM is present throughout Madagascar through its 12 decentralized offices : Antananarivo, Antsiranana, Sambava, Mahajanga, Maevatanana, Ambatondrazaka, Toamasina, Antsirabe, Fianarantsoa, Manakara, Toliara et Taolagnaro.