The Board of Directors of the Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative (EITI) agreed that Madagascar has made significant overall progress in implementing the EITI Standard

On June 07, 2020, the Board of Directors of the Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative (EITI) agreed that Madagascar has made significant overall progress in implementing the EITI Standard, with considerable improvements in several areas. To this end, Madagascar is taking a step further to gain the status of “EITI Compliant Country”. The EITI Board commended the Malagasy state for improving transparency in areas of public interest. Furthermore, he considers that among the countries implementing the EITI, Madagascar is one of those in the process of establishing best practices in terms of reporting on environmental and gender-related issues in the extractive sector, with in particular the publication of gendered employment data as well as the promotion of inclusive debates at the local level.

Of the 15 recommendations issued by the International EITI Board, Madagascar has fully applied 7 corrective measures. And contrary to the claims having been wrongly conveyed, that due to lack of funding, no validation can be made, the work to prepare the second validation could be carried out with the available resources. It is the result of hard work and a lot of time spent in preparing for validation.

Note that Madagascar will have 18 months, before a third validation, so that the country proceeds to eight (8) corrective measures. With these positive results obtained, Madagascar once again demonstrates its commitment to transparency in the governance of the mining and petroleum sector. There is still a long way to go for the implementation of the EITI standard, but the state is continuing its momentum which makes transparency and the fight against corruption its priorities.

As a reminder, the EITI is an international standard which requires transparency and responsible management of the revenues received by the State from the extractive sector, through a platform of tripartite dialogue composed of the administration, the extractive industries and civil societies.

 

Source :

MINISTERE DES MINES ET DES RESSOURCES STRATEGIQUES (lien)

Date : Mercredi 17 juin 2020

Le Conseil d’Administration de l’Initiative pour la Transparence des Industries Extractives (ITIE) a convenu que Madagascar a accompli des progrès globalement significatifs dans la mise en œuvre de la Norme ITIE

Le 07 juin 2020, le Conseil d’Administration de l’Initiative pour la Transparence des Industries Extractives (ITIE) a convenu que Madagascar a accompli des progrès globalement significatifs dans la mise en œuvre de la Norme ITIE, assortis d’améliorations considérables concernant plusieurs Exigences distinctes. A cet effet, Madagascar fait un pas de plus pour accéder au statut de « Pays conforme à l’ITIE». Le Conseil d’Administration de l’ITIE a félicité l’Etat Malagasy pour l’amélioration de la transparence dans des domaines d’intérêt public. Par ailleurs, il estime que parmi les pays mettant en œuvre l’ITIE, Madagascar est l’un de ceux en train d’établir les meilleures pratiques en matière de rapportage sur les questions environnementales et liées aux genres dans le secteur extractif, avec notamment la publication de données genrées sur l’emploi ainsi que la promotion de débats inclusifs au niveau local.

Sur les 15 recommandations émises par le Conseil d’Administration International de l’ITIE, Madagascar a pleinement appliqué 7 mesures correctives. Et contrairement aux affirmations ayant été véhiculées à tort, que par faute de financement, aucune validation ne pourra pas être faite, les travaux de préparation de la deuxième validation ont pu être réalisés avec les ressources disponibles. C’est le fruit d’un travail acharné et beaucoup de temps consacré dans la préparation de la validation.

A noter que Madagascar disposera de 18 mois, avant une troisième validation, afin que le pays procède à huit (8) mesures correctives. Avec ces résultats positifs obtenus, Madagascar démontre, une fois de plus, son engagement pour la transparence dans la gouvernance du secteur minier et pétrolier. Du chemin reste à parcourir pour la mise en oeuvre de la norme ITIE mais l’Etat poursuit dans sa lancée qui fait de la transparence et la lutte contre la corruption ses priorités.

A titre de rappel, l’ITIE est une norme internationale qui exige la transparence et la gestion responsable des revenus perçus par l’État auprès du secteur extractif, à travers une plateforme de dialogue tripartite composée de l’administration, des industries extractives et des sociétés civiles.

 

Source :

MINISTERE DES MINES ET DES RESSOURCES STRATEGIQUES (lien)

Date : Mercredi 17 juin 2020